Fearless

mini-beckhman-1432832-639x426

Sometimes, I miss the ten-year-old version of myself. The boy who would try his best to get in the middle of a pickup game of soccer played by German kids, even though they possessed superior skill. Sure, there was embarrassment, but that was a minor inconvenience when weighed against participation. Maybe the requirement for reaching adulthood is exchanging fearlessness for apprehension. Yeah, adulthood comes with a price. Since it is impossible to turn back the clock and become a kid again, maybe it’s possible to rediscover the ten-year-old’s joy of doing things without fear and for fun.

This same apprehension dogged me for years while trying to learn to play the guitar. I picked up the guitar late in life at the age of 18 or 19 — I honestly can’t remember. Whenever I talked to other guitar players, they always pointed out that they started earlier, and most of the time, the starting age was around five. The only instrument I played at five was the Fischer Price record player my parents gave me. Unfortunately, this fact was a dark cloud that followed my progress. “If only I would have started earlier, I could have mastered this already.” Does that sound familiar? Of course, starting earlier never guarantees the desired result.

Now, several years later, and I mean several years later, I now just play for the joy of playing without beating myself up for not having the abilities of the guitar players I’ve tried to emulate. I realize this sounds simple, but this is a pretty big deal for me. (Not that this issue is comparable to a lot of the real life problems other people face.)

I’m reminded of this verse that points out that there is a plan for all of us. This plan isn’t bound by our limitations. Ephesians 2:10 “For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” Let’s get to it, then and don’t let anyone tell you that you are too old or too young to get things done.

Here’s a short video of me playing the guitar and having fun (of course).

Leave a Reply

